The 7th of December – Islamic New Year

Все новости
December 07, 2010 year 23:03


The 7th of December – Islamic New Year

Dear Muslims, Happy Islamic New Year of 1432!

The last month of Hijri year 1431 Dhū al-Ḥijja ended on 7 December and the first month of 1432 - Muḥarram began.

The Islamic calendar starts with the great event – the migration of Prophet Muhammad (SAS) and his companions from Mecca to the city of Medina, called the Hijra.

The decision to introduce the calendar was made by khaleef Umar ibn al-Khattab  (AS).

There are twelve months in the Islamic calendar, named as follows:

1.         Muḥarram محرّم

2.         Ṣafar صفر

3.         Rabīʿ al-Awwal ربيع الأوّل

4.         Rabīʿ al-Ākhir ربيع الآخر أو ربيع الثاني

5.         Jumādā al-Ūlā جمادى الأولى

6.         Jumādā al-Ākhirah جمادى الآخرة أو جمادى الثانية

7.         Rajab رجب

8.         Shaʿbān شعبان

9.         Ramaḍān رمضان

10.       Shawwāl شوّال

11.       Dhū al-Qaʿda ذو القعدة

12.       Dhū al-Ḥijja ذو الحجة

We wish Muslims all the best in the New Year! May Allah be our guide to all matters and keep us on the straight path!


Crimean Community of Kyiv